Coffee talk: Emily (Emmy)

Posted on

Emily (Emmy), North Texas, 22 years old

Disclaimer: Emmy has been one of my best friends for the past 13 years and this is very much in the style of a casual conversation between her and I so there are some parts that definitely reflect that! I hope you enjoy this conversation as much as we had having it!

I actually started drinking coffee my junior year of college. I was going through some tough courses and needed to study hard and late, so I tried coffee. My first coffee was a French vanilla Keurig cup; I should say it’s the first coffee I actually liked. I like to have coffee every now and then. Sometimes I have weeks where I have to have it everyday. If I have to start my day really early, like last summer I had to be at a cheer clinic I worked for, 45 minutes away at 8am. I usually get Starbucks café mochas on the days that I really need it. I’m trying to start to like different coffee drinks like trying coffee black with a little sugar and cream. If anyone has any recommendations let me know. I love to go to Thumpers in Nacogdoches (which has been featured in the blog) to study. I love the shop because it’s pretty small, it’s comfy, quiet and has a Christian feel to it as well. It’s a nice way to connect and feel closer to people. The smell of coffee isn’t my favorite in the car, but in the house, the smell of coffee always reminds me of my mom. In elementary school in the mornings she would always be up and drinking her black coffee and would smell like it when we would kiss her walking out to go to school.

I was born and raised in North Texas except for a little stint in Southwestern Michigan when I was a toddler. I love the big blue Texas sky; it’s so pure and I know once I move back north I won’t have it and I’m really going to miss it. In East Texas people are so friendly and willing to help each other, especially in a small town like Nacogdoches. With my internship in Nacogdoches, it is part of our job to partner with other non profit organizations to help people that are homeless and to set up community gardens for people to enjoy at no cost to them. My family is moving to Michigan this summer. My grandparents are up there as well as my cousins and aunts and uncles so it will be great to be able to see and spend time with them often. I spend most of my time in Texas but my summers and big holidays, like Christmas, are spent in Michigan. Even though I won’t be living here for long, Texas will always have a part of my heart and my contact list (since we’ve been friends for over thirteen years and I can’t get rid of you-haha).

My passions in life are family, dogs and friends. Wait, actually family, friends and then dogs. My faith is a big part of my life because Jesus has gotten me through many struggles but also many joyful times as well. I always know that I am going to be okay no matter how much something may hurt and I know that joy is always coming if it is not already there. My goal in life is to help people improve their quality of life and find joy in what they have.

I’m graduating from college in May and I am moving up north this summer with my family. While there are a lot of unknown circumstances I have a lot of hope. “Because without hope, really, what do you got?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *